The last video of our series about collaborative authoring demonstrates how to edit a concept in a workflow scenario with one author and one reviewer. We will perform different changes, such as adding a description and changing the preferred term.

This video is part of our series about working in collaborative mode. You can find previous videos of this series at:

Once you’ve seen the video, you can find additional documentiation at:

Transcript

Hi! This is Sonja from B2i Healthcare.

Today I would like to demonstrate how to edit a concept in a workflow scenario with one author and one reviewer. We will also see how a user that is not assigned to the tasks is affected by a change.

We have four accounts for the scenario: I will be creating the task, Brandon will be the author, Orsi the reviewer, and Balazs won’t be assigned to the task, he will be just browsing on MAIN. Let’s start by creating a task for this scenario. In the previous videos we worked on reference sets. Today we want to edit a concept, so we have to choose “SNOMED CT authoring” as the artifact type. The task will be to add a synonym to Hantaan virus and to set the new synonym as the preferred term. The scenario is the most simple scenario: Single author with single reviewer and I will just specify Brandon as the author, and Orsi as the reviewer, and submit the task to the task management system.

So much for my account, now let’s go to Brandon’s account who will be the author. Right now there’s no task activated here, Brandon is on MAIN, this means he cannot do any authoring work. Let’s open the concept that we will be working on. Here it is. Since he can’t do authoring work all the buttons that are associated with authoring are not displayed right now, so he can’t do anything here. Also if we go to the context menu, there are just very few options available. This is because he’s working on MAIN and not on the branch yet. Let’s open our task, here it is, and activate the task. We’ve moved from MAIN to the branch. You can see that the task name is displayed down here. If we open the editor for this concept again we can see that the editing options are now available, the buttons are here.

It’s the same for the context menu: There are a lot more actions available, you can add a child concept or inactivate a concept and so on. It’s important to activate the task because you can only do authoring work when you’re on the branch, when your task is displayed down here.

Let’s start the authoring work. Let’s create a synonym first, I click on this blue triangle and just clone this synonym. This means that we’re creating a copy of the description, all settings like for example, case sensitivity, are also copied. Now all I have to do is enter the new name for the description, which is “Hantavirus”.

I also want to use this description as the new preferred term. This red price ribbon or rosette icon indicates the preferred term. It’s right now in front of this description here, but we would like to use the new description. I just go to the blue triangle again and select “Set to Singapore preferred”; this is the currently active language dialect that I’m using. You can see that it moved here: Now we set the new synonym as the preferred term. We need to save this work. After saving it the preferred term is displayed up here in the editor title and also used in the SNOMED CT view. Brandon’s work is done; to push the workflow forward to the reviewer, he needs to change the task status from ASSIGNED to FIXED and save this change, which will trigger an email notification to the reviewer. The task is now assigned to the reviewer; this is why the dot moved from the author to the reviewer.

Brandon’s work is done, now we can go to Orsi’s account. Let’s refresh the view to bring up the task, and here it is. To start the review Orsi needs to activate the task and go to the review tab. I’ll just maximize this. This is a bit different than in the previous videos, this is what a review tab looks like when you are doing concept authoring. You can see the tree view; the concepts that were changed are displayed in black font. We can see Hantavirus here, and if I click it, additional information is displayed down here. We can see that a new synonym was added with the name “Hantavirus”. This icon indicates that it’s a description (that’s this tag) and the plus indicates that a description was added. We can also see the component: it’s a SNOMED CT description. This is one part of the hierarchy that was changed and then there was also a change here that is related to the preferred term: the preferred term changed from “Hantaan virus” to “Hantavirus”. That was in the language reference set.

To start the review, Orsi has to go to this box where she can either accept or reject the changes that were made. If she wanted to reject, she would select this option, then she could leave a comment down here in this box and reopen the bug to send it back to the author. But let’s assume that the work is approved, we accept it and save the review. If Orsi wanted to see the concept, she could just double click it in the review tab to bring up the concept editor. We saved the review; we can see “Accept” here, now we need to push the workflow forward and mark it as VERIFIED – this is just like in the previous videos – and save the status change. Once this is done, this button is enabled (that’s the promote button) and we can promote the modification to MAIN.

But I wanted to show how this change affects someone who’s not working on the task, so let’s go to Balazs. Balazs is just browsing on MAIN. Let’s assume he has the same concept editor open. Balazs cannot see the changes that were made by Brandon and that were approved by Orsi yet. We still have the previous preferred term displayed here.

Let’s go back to Orsi. If we look at her editor, there the changes are already displayed; we can see there’s a new synonym here and a new preferred term. Now Orsi will be promoting this change to MAIN: she’s moving to MAIN now from the branch that she was on, everything is merged now.

Let’s go to Balazs’ account and see what happened. Since Balazs was just looking at this particular concept while it was changed there’s a message popping up here, a notification that Orsi changed the content of this editor. He only has to click OK to refresh the editor. We can see that the new preferred term is now also visible for Balazs. Everybody who’s browsing on MAIN can see the changes. Until it was promoted only Orsi and Brandon and me (because I created the task), so only the people that were assigned to the task could see it.

That’s all I wanted to show today. Thank you very much for your attention. Bye-bye.